Town councillors are unpaid and represent local residents. The next election is May 2019.

You can send an email to any MP and find out about attendance and voting patterns and who represents you locally by visiting the website

Role of a town councillor

A town councillor is elected by the voters who live in the ward in which they have chosen to stand.  Town councillors have three main areas of work, which include:

  • Decision-making – attending meetings and deciding what activities to support and how money should be spent.
  • Monitoring – keeping an eye on what is going on to make sure that their decisions lead to efficient and effective services, and
  • Getting involved locally.

There is a legal requirement to attend a minimum number of meetings and to abide by a Members’ code of conduct.

The National Association of Local Councils publishes The Good Councillors Guide and a booklet for people who want to know more about the role of a councillor.

David Kirkham – Town Mayor

15 Pemberton Grove, Bawtry, DN10 6LR
01302 710899


Angela Harrison – Clerk to the Council

The Old Coach House, The Yews, Firbeck, Worksop S81 8JW
07758 822654

Alan Claypole – Town Councillor

7 Harewood Drive, Bawtry, DN10 6LH
01302 623456


George Scott – Town Councillor

Clanroy, Elm Tree Drive, Bawtry, DN10 6LF
07752 385395




Alexander Young – Town Councillor

11 School Walk, Bawtry, DN10 6HP
01302 719697 or 07971 211393


Douglas Cartwright – Town Councillor

1 Yew Tree Drive, Bawtry DN10 6LH
07712 517711



Alan Cropley – Town Councillor

19 Sycamore Crescent, Bawtry, DN10 6LE
01302 710873


Peter Holland – Town Councillor

8 Martin Lane, Bawtry, DN10 6NJ
01302 711025

Claire Lukey – Town Councillor

77 Station Rd, Bawtry DN10 6PU
07837 645981

John Linsley – Town Councillor

Craigwood, Doncaster Rd, Bawtry DN10 6NP
01302 374009

Gilbert Budgen – Town Councillor

107 Staiton Rd, Bawtry DN10 6PU
01302 710374



Steve Womack – Town Councillor

78 Church Street, Bawtry DN10 6HU
01302 711960/711563 or 07703 691517

Andrew West – Town Councillor

7 Church Street, Bawtry DN10 6HR
07576 259709

Rebecca Dickenson – Town Councillor

131 Station Road, Bawtry, DN10 6QD
07989 307296